ML Ph.D. Program Faculty

ML Ph.D. Program Faculty can advise students in the ML Ph.D. program no matter what homeschool the student is affiliated with. Faculty members on this list can also serve on a qualifications committee. If you are an ML Ph.D. student looking for an advisor, please contact one of the faculty members listed on this page.

Name Position Primary Affiliation Email Research Areas
Abernethy, Jacob Associate Professor College of Computing / SCS prof@gatech.edu Game Theory, Machine Learning Theory
AlRegib, Ghassan Professor College of Engineering / ECE alregib@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning
Aluru, Srinivas Professor / Executive Director of IDEaS College of Computing / CSE aluru@cc.gatech.edu Artificial Intelligence, Systems for Machine Learning, Bioinformatics
Anderson, David Professor College of Engineering / ECE anderson@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Antonakakis, Manos College of Engineering / ECE
Arkin, Ron College of Computing / IC
Ayer, Turgay Associate Professor College of Engineering / ISyE ayer@isye.gatech.edu Game Theory, Bioinformatics
Balch, Tucker Professor College of Computing / IC tucker@cc.gatech.edu Robotics
Batra, Dhruv Associate Professor / Research Scientist at FAIR College of Computing / IC dbatra@gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Bloch, Matthieu Associate Professor / Associate Chair for Graduate Affairs, Electrical and Computer Engineering College of Engineering / ECE matthieu.bloch@ece.gatech.edu Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory
Chau, Polo Associate Professor / Associate Director, ML@GT / Associate Director, Master of Science in Analytics College of Computing / CSE polo@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Information Security
Chen, Yongxin Assistant Professor College of Engineering / Aerospace yongchen@gatech.edu Robotics, Deep Learning, Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory
Chernova, Sonia Associate Professor College of Computing / IC chernova@gatech.edu Robotics, Artificial Intelligence
Choi, Hannah Assistant Professor College of Science / School of Math hannahch@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing
Chu, Xu Assistant Professor College of Computing / SCS xu.chu@cc.gatech.edu Ethics and Fairness, Systems for Machine Learning
Clarke, John-Paul Dean's Professor College of Engineering / Aerospace johnpaul@gatech.edu
Clifford, Gari Professor / Chair, Biomedical Informatics College of Engineering / BME gari@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning, Bioinformatics, Information Security, Hardware
Coskun, Ahmet Assistant Professor/Bernie Marcus Early-Career Professor College of Engineering / BME ahmet.coskun@bme.gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Bioinformatics
Dahan, Mathieu Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE mathieu.dahan@isye.gatech.edu Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence, Information Security, Logistics and Manufacturing
Davenport, Mark Associate Professor College of Engineering / ECE mdav@gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory
De Choudhury, Munmun Associate Professor College of Computing / IC Munmun.Choudhury@cc.gatech.edu
Desai, Deven Associate Professor Scheller College of Business deven.desai@scheller.gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Robotics, Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Computational Finance, Information Security
Dovrolis, Constantine Professor College of Computing / SCS constantine@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Bioinformatics
Dyer, Eva Assistant Professor College of Engineering / BME evadyer@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Bioinformatics
Essa, Irfan Distinguished Professor/ Senior Associate Dean of Computing / Research Scientist Google College of Computing / IC irfan@gatech.edu Computer vision, Robotics, Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Systems for Machine Learning
Fekri, Faramarz Professor / GTRI Fellow College of Engineering / ECE Fekri@ece.gatech.edu Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Information Security
Gebraeel, Nagi Professor College of Engineering / ISyE nagi@gatech.edu Internet of Things, Systems for Machine Learning, Logistics and Manufacturing
Gombolay, Matthew Assistant Professor College of Computing / IC matthew.gombolay@cc.gatech.edu Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Gupta, Swati Fouts Family Early Career Professor, Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE swatig@gatech.edu Ethics and Fairness, Machine Learning Theory
Ha, Sehoon Assistant Professor / Research Scientist at Google College of Computing / IC sehoonha@gatech.edu Robotics, Artificial Intelligence
Hays, James Associate Professor / Principal Scientist at Argo AI College of Computing / IC hays@gatech.edu Computer vision, Robotics
Heck, Larry Professor / Rhesa Farmer Chair in Advanced Computing Concepts and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar College of Engineering / ECE larry.heck1@gmail.com Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Hoffman, Judy Assistant Professor College of Computing / IC judy@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Houdré, Christian Professor / Associate Chair for Research College of Science / School of Math houdre@math.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Machine Learning Theory, Bioinformatics, Computational Finance
Huo, Xiaoming Professor / Director of the Transdisciplinary Research Institute for Advancing Data Science College of Engineering / ISyE huo@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory, Computational Finance
Inan, Omer Associate Professor College of Engineering / ECE omer.inan@ece.gatech.edu
Isbell, Charles College of Computing John P. Imlay Dean College of Computing / IC isbell@cc.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Game Theory, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Systems for Machine Learning
Ji, Chuanyi Associate Professor College of Engineering / ECE jichuanyi@gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Joseph, Roshan Professor College of Engineering / ISyE roshan@gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory, Logistics and Manufacturing
Juang, Biing (Fred) Professor; Motorola Foundation Chair Professor; Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar College of Engineering / ECE juang@ece.gatech.edu
Kalidindi, Surya R. Professor, Interim Director, Novelis Innovation Hub College of Computing / CSE surya.kalidindi@me.gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory
Kamaleswaran, Rishikesan Assistant Professor/Director of Translational Clinical Informatics College of Engineering / BME rkamaleswaran@gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory, Bioinformatics
Kira, Zsolt Assistant Professor / Associate Director, ML@GT College of Computing/IC & GTRI Zsolt.Kira@gtri.gatech.edu Computer vision, Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Koltchinskii, Vladimir Professor College of Sciences / Math vlad@math.gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory
Kumar, Srijan Assistant Professor College of Computing / CSE srijan@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Information Security
Lan, Guanghui (George) Associate Professor / Associate Director, ML@GT College of Engineering / ISyE George.lan@isye.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory
Li, Jing Professor College of Engineering / ISyE jing.li@isye.gatech.edu Artificial Intelligence, Systems for Machine Learning
Liu, Ling Professor College of Computing / SCS lingliu@cc.gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Systems for Machine Learning, Information Security
Lu, Jye-Chyi Professor College of Engineering / ISyE JCLU@isye.gatech.edu Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Logistics and Manufacturing
Maguluri, Siva Theja Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE siva.theja@gatech.edu Robotics, Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory
Matzinger, Heinrich Associate Professor College of Sciences/ Mathematics matzi@math.gatech.edu
McGreggor, Keith Professor of the Practice / Director, VentureLab / Executive Director, I-Corps South College of Computing / IC keith.mcgreggor@gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Artificial Intelligence
Mei, Yajun Professor College of Engineering / ISyE ymei@isye.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Machine Learning Theory, Bioinformatics
Mitchell, Cassie Assistant Professor / Faculty Advisor, ABLE Alliance College of Engineering and Emory School of Medicine/ Biomedical Engineering cassie.mitchell@bme.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Systems for Machine Learning, Bioinformatics
Montreuil, Benoit Professor / Director, Supply Chain & Logistics / Institute Director, Physical Internet (PI) Center (and PI Lab) / Co-Director, Sentient Immersive Response Network (SIReN) Lab College of Engineering / ISyE benoit.montreuil@isye.gatech.edu Artificial Intelligence, Logistics and Manufacturing
Mukhopadhyay, Saibal Professor College of Engineering / ECE saibal.mukhopadhyay@ece.gatech.edu Robotics, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Internet of Things, Hardware
Muthukumar, Vidya Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE vmuthukumar8@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Game Theory, Ethics and Fairness, Machine Learning Theory
Nemirovski, Arkadi College of Engineering / ISyE
Pananjady, Ashwin Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE ashwinpm@gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory
Pandarinath, Chethan College of Engineering / BME
Parikh, Devi Associate Professor / Research Scientist at FAIR College of Computing / IC parikh@gatech.edu Computer vision, Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Park, Haesun Regents' Professor College of Computing / CSE
Paynabar, Kamran Associate Professor College of Engineering / ISyE Kamran.paynabar@isye.gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Logistics and Manufacturing
Ploetz, Thomas Associate Professor College of Computing / IC Thomas.ploetz@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things
Prakash, B. Aditya Associate Professor / Director Seminars and Distinguished Lectures, IDEaS College of Computing / CSE badityap@cc.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Qiu, Peng Associate Professor College of Engineering / BME peng.qiu@bme.gatech.edu Bioinformatics
Ramprasad, Rampi Michael E. Tennenbaum Family Chair and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar College of Engineering / School of Materials Science & Engineering rampi.ramprasad@mse.gatech.edu
Randall, Dana ADVANCE Professor of Computing College of Computing / SCS randall@cc.gatech.edu
Rehg, Jim Professor College of Computing / IC rehg@gatech.edu
Riedl, Mark Professor and Associate Director of the Machine Learning Center College of Computing / IC riedl@cc.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence
Ritter, Alan Associate Professor College of Computing / IC alan.ritter@cc.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Romberg, Justin Professor / Associate Chair for Research, ECE / Senior Associate Director at ML@GT College of Engineering / ECE Machine Learning Theory
Rozell, Christopher Professor College of Engineering / ECE crozell@gatech.edu Computer vision, Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Serban, Nicoleta Professor College of Engineering / ISyE nserban@isye.gatech.edu Bioinformatics
Shi, Jianjun The Carolyn J. Stewart Chair and Professor College of Engineering / ISyE jianjun.shi@isye.gatech.edu Systems for Machine Learning
Sokol, Joel Professor / Director, Master of Science in Analytics College of Engineering / ISyE Game Theory, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Logistics and Manufacturing
Swaminathan, Madhavan Professor / Director, 3D Systems Packaging Research Center (PRC) College of Engineering / ECE madhavan@ece.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Logistics and Manufacturing
Theodorou, Evangelos College of Engineering / AE
Tsiotras, Panos David and Andrew Lewis Chaired Professor / Associate Director for IRIM College of Engineering / Aerospace tsiotras@gatech.edu Robotics, Game Theory, Artificial Intelligence
Turk, Greg Professor College of Computing / IC turk@cc.gatech.edu Deep Learning
Vamvoudakis, Kyriakos Assistant Professor College of Engineering / Aerospace kyriakos@gatech.edu Robotics, Deep Learning, Game Theory, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Information Security
Van Hentenryck, Pascal Associate Chair for Innovation and Entrepreneurship and A. Russell Chandler III Chair and Professor College of Engineering / ISyE pvh@isye.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Information Security, Logistics and Manufacturing
Vela, Patricio Associate Professor College of Engineering / ECE pvela@gatech.edu Computer vision, Robotics, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Vempala, Santosh Professor, Frederick Storey Chair College of Computing / SCS vempala@gatech.edu Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Machine Learning Theory
Wang, He Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE he.wang@isye.gatech.edu Game Theory, Machine Learning Theory, Logistics and Manufacturing
Wang, May Dongmei College of Engineering / BME
Wu, Anqi Assistant Professor College of Computing / CSE anqiwu.angela@gmail.com Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Artificial Intelligence
Wu, Jeff Coca-Cola Chair in Engineering Statistics, Professor College of Engineering / ISyE jeff.wu@isye.gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory, Systems for Machine Learning
Xie, Yao Assistant Professor / Associate Director of Machine Learning Center College of Engineering / ISyE yao.xie@isye.gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory
Xu, Wei Assistant Professor College of Computing / IC wei.xu@cc.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Yang, Diyi Assistant Professor College of Computing / IC diyi.yang@cc.gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Ethics and Fairness, Artificial Intelligence, Computational Finance
Yang, Shihao Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE shihao.yang@isye.gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory, Bioinformatics, Computational Finance
Yu, Shimeng Associate Professor College of Engineering / ECE shimeng.yu@ece.gatech.edu Deep Learning, Neurocomputing, Hardware
Zha, Hongyuan College of Computing / CSE
Zhang, Chao Assistant Professor College of Computing / CSE chaozhang@gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Information Security
Zhang, Xiuwei Assistant Professor College of Computing / CSE xzhang954@gatech.edu
Zhao, Tuo Assistant Professor College of Engineering / ISyE and College of Computing / CSE tourzhao@gatech.edu Natural Language Processing, Robotics, Deep Learning, Game Theory, Machine Learning Theory
Zhou, Enlu Associate Professor / Member of DCL College of Engineering / ISyE enlu.zhou@isye.gatech.edu Machine Learning Theory, Computational Finance