Georgia Tech/Google Robotics Workshop

Synopsis

Georgia Tech and Google have made tremendous strides in robotics and machine intelligence research over the past few years. We are planning to organize a 1-day workshop between two groups to share research progress, exchange ideas, and spark future collaboration. The main agenda includes nine 20-minute research talks, 4 from Googlers and 5 from Georgia Tech professors, followed by a discussion on collaboration opportunities.

 

Date, Time, and Location

Date: Friday, May 7, 2021

Time: 8 AM PT (11 AM ET) to 2 PM PT (5 PM ET)

Location: Internal only: please find an internal mailing list or contact the organizer (sehoonha@gatech.edu)

 

Invited Speakers

  • Alexander Toshev, Google
  • Frank Hammond, Georgia Tech
  • Karol Hausman, Google
  • Judy Hoffman, Georgia Tech
  • Matthew Gombolay, Georgia Tech
  • Pannag Sanketti, Google
  • Tingnan Zhang, Google
  • Ye Zhao, Georgia Tech
  • Zsolt Kira, Georgia Tech

Organized by: Jie Tan (Google), Sehoon Ha (Georgia Tech), Carolina Parada (Google), Irfan Essa (Georgia Tech), and Negar Saei (Google)

 

Schedule

 
Session: Introduction

(PT) 8:00 – 8:30 am / (ET) 11:00 – 11:30 am  

  • Welcome & Introduction by Carolina Parada (Google) and Irfan Essa (Georgia Tech)
Session 1 (75 mins)

(PT) 8:30 – 9:45 am / (ET) 11:30 am – 12:45 pm

  • Robust Planning and Decision-making for Safe Legged Locomotion by Ye Zhao @ Georgia Tech 
  • Learning & Locomotion: From Sim to Real by Tingnan Zhang @ Google 
  • Human-Guided Machine Learning of Control Strategies for Soft Robotic Manipulators by Frank Hammond @ Georgia Tech

10 minutes break

Session 2 (75 mins)

(PT) 9:55 – 11:10 am / (ET) 12:55 – 14:10 pm 

  • Teaching robots to play table tennis: challenges and opportunities by Pannag Sanketi @ Google
  • The Human in Human-Robot Interaction by Matthew Gombolay @ Georgia Tech
  • Multi-task robotic reinforcement learning at scale by Karol Hausman @Google

10 minutes break

Session 3 (75 mins)

(PT) 11:20 am– 12:35 pm / (ET) 14:20 – 15:35 pm 

  • Robust Vision for Reliable Visual Navigation by Judy Hoffman @ Georgia Tech
  • Visual Semantic Navigation by Alex Toshev @ Google
  • Leveraging the Low-Labeled Revolution for Real-World Robotics by Zsolt Kira @ Georgia Tech

10 minutes break

Session: Panel Discussion & Wrap up 

(PT) 12:45 – 13:30 pm / (ET) 15:45 – 16:30 pm 

  • University Relations at Google by Negar Saei @ Google

Event Details

Date/Time:

  • Friday, May 7, 2021
    11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location: internal only: please find an internal mailing list or contact the organizer (sehoonha@gatech.edu)

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Pannag Sanketi (Google)

  • Tingnan Zhang (Google)

  • Zsolt Kira (Georgia Tech)

  • Alexander Toshev (Google)

  • Frank Hammond (Georgia Tech)

  • Karol Hausman (Google)

  • Judy Hoffman (Georgia Tech)

  • Matthew Gombolay (Georgia Tech)

  • Ye Zhao (Georgia Tech)